Riding an ATV can be an exhilarating experience. But, like any motorized vehicle, proper training is required to minimize the risk of serious bodily injury or death. In fact, Texas Law requires that you complete an ATV Rider Safety course to lawfully operate an ATV on public lands (Transportation Code Sec. 663.031).
Texas Recreational Safety & Land Management, in partnership with the ATV Safety Institute, offers an ATV Rider Safety course to our community that is certified by the Texas Department of Public Safety. Our 6-hour ATV Rider Safety course complies with state licensing requirements. After successful completion of the course, you’ll receive your safety certificate, issued by the Department of Public Safety. You are required to carry your DPS issued safety certificate on your person, while operating an ATV on Public Lands, in Texas.
Our ATV Rider Safety course is offered FREE of charge to most new riders. Additionally, you may even qualify to receive a cash incentive of up to $100 from your ATV manufacturer, after successfully completing the course. Our courses are offered monthly, at two different training sites. We have a training site located in El Paso, Texas and a second training site located in Las Cruces, New Mexico.
To sign up for the course please click here
Texas ATV Laws
- All ATV owners must apply for a title before selling or disposing of their ATV.
- All ATV riders and passengers must wear a DOT approved helmet and eye protection while riding on public lands.
- All off-highway vehicles operated on public lands (where recreational riding is legal) or on private lands (receiving state funding), must display an OHV Decal issued by Texas Parks & Wildlife. Decals can be purchased at the Texas Recreational Safety & Land Management Office.
- Passengers are not allowed to ride on an ATV, while operating on public lands, unless the ATV is designed to carry a passenger by the manufacturer.
- Under most circumstances, ATV use on public streets is strictly prohibited. Exceptions are made for agricultural use or when ATV’s are operated by Peace Officers (Sec. 663.037)
- If a trail path is blocked by a road, you may safely cross the road, at a 90 degree angle, to continue on the trail. Prior to crossing a roadway, you must come to a complete stop, yield the right of way to traffic and display a working headlight/taillight.
- All operators under 14 years old must be supervised by a parent or guardian at all times.
- ATV Riders must possess an ATV rider safety certificate or be under the direct supervision of an adult, who has completed a state approved ATV rider safety course and obtained an ATV rider safety certificate (section 663.031).
- ATVs shall not be operated from ½ hour after sunset to ½ hour before sunrise, without a lighted taillight and headlight.